Skip to content

Scotia Village

2200 Elm Avenue, Laurinburg, North Carolina 28352 · Community website

Operator:
The Presbyterian Homes, Inc. dba Brightspire (Scotia Village is an operating division), under parent Kintura
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Presbyterian
Opened:
1988

Kintura, formed through the merger of Brightspire and Well-Spring, is the controlling corporate parent.

  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$54,000 to $444,000p. 25

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,131 to $4,815p. 23p. 24

Refund plans offered

  • StandardCan decline to nothing
  • 50% RefundableNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 90% RefundableNever less than 90% of the fee
  • Range across refund plans (plan not specified)Terms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

248 (FY2025)p. 38Its lenders require at least 120.Figures for Scotia Village (community only)
Read the note on this figure

FY2025 is a 15-month period (Oct 2024-Dec 2025) after a fiscal-year-end change. The 248 days appears to count Scotia Village's $4.4M statutory operating reserve: its cash ($0.16M) and investments ($6.26M) alone are about 147 days of cash operating expenses (p78, p81). The Brightspire obligated group reports 738 days and 2.08x (p38, p40).

Independent living occupancy

98.41% (2025)p. 21

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

14 grace days a year with no per diem (unused days do not carry over), then nursing care at 80% of the published daily rate. The apartment must be surrendered on request 90 days after the grace days run out.p. 126

Assisted living
Published assisted living rates $5,739-$7,695 a month (Heather Glen, single; $13,414 for a one-bedroom double). The contract's 80% rate is written for nursing care; whether it applies to assisted living is not stated.
Nursing care
First 14 days a year in the Health Center: keep paying the apartment's monthly charge, no per diem (insurance such as Medicare is used first). After that, 80% of the published nursing per diem ($382 a day skilled; memory care $388 a day published), plus the apartment's monthly charge until it is surrendered.
Care days included
14
Discount on care
20%
Units on campusp. 20
Independent living126
Assisted living32
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care58

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (14 prices, $54,000 to $444,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
IL – Selkirk, StudioRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $54,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Selkirk, Expanded StudioRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $60,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Sterling, One BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $82,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Sterling, Expanded One BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $101,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Shetland, Two BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $168,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Aberdeen, One BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $124,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Aberdeen, Two BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $195,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Aberdeen, Two Bedroom, ExpandedRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $201,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Cromarty, Two BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $288,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Cromarty, Three BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $323,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Glasgow, Two BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $359,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Inverness, Two BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $335,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Inverness, Three BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $405,000p. 25Not listed
IL – Edinburgh, Two Bedroom/DenRange across refund plans (plan not specified)from $444,000p. 25Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (17 prices, $3,131 to $7,695)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
IL – Selkirk, StudioIndependent living$3,131p. 23Not listed
IL – Selkirk, Expanded StudioIndependent living$3,362p. 23$1,286
IL – Sterling, One BedroomIndependent living$3,558p. 23$1,286
IL – Sterling, Expanded One BedroomIndependent living$3,748p. 23$1,286
IL – Shetland, Two BedroomIndependent living$4,145p. 23$1,286
IL – Aberdeen, One BedroomIndependent living$3,855p. 23$1,286
IL – Aberdeen, Two BedroomIndependent living$4,233p. 24$1,286
IL – Aberdeen, Two Bedroom, ExpandedIndependent living$4,630p. 24$1,286
IL – Cromarty, Two BedroomIndependent living$4,470p. 24$1,286
IL – Cromarty, Three BedroomIndependent living$4,620p. 24$1,286
IL – Glasgow, Two BedroomIndependent living$4,617p. 24$1,286
IL – Inverness, Two BedroomIndependent living$4,633p. 24$1,286
IL – Inverness, Three BedroomIndependent living$4,813p. 24$1,286
IL – Edinburgh, Two Bedroom/DenIndependent living$4,815p. 24$1,286
AL – Heather Glen I, StudioAssisted living$5,739p. 24Not listed
AL – Heather Glen II, StudioAssisted living$6,704p. 24Not listed
AL – Heather Glen II, One Bedroom SingleAssisted living$7,695p. 24Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 4.2%20222023: 7.8%20232024: 6.4%20242025: 4.9%20252026: 4.25%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units4.25%Percent onlyp. 24
2025Independent livingAll units4.9%Percent onlyp. 24
2024Independent livingAll units6.4%Percent onlyp. 24
2023Independent livingAll units7.8%Percent onlyp. 24
2022Independent livingAll units4.2%Percent onlyp. 24

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standardp. 27

4% of the entrance fee is non-refundable and the refund drops 2% for each month of occupancy, reaching nothing after 48 months. The refund (less unpaid charges) is paid only once your apartment has been reserved by a new resident who has paid their entrance fee; there is no deadline.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 48 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

50% Refundablep. 27

4% is non-refundable and the refund drops 2% a month for 23 months, then stays at 50% of the entrance fee. The refund (less unpaid charges) is paid only once your apartment has been reserved by a new resident who has paid their entrance fee; there is no deadline.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 23 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

90% Refundablep. 27

4% is non-refundable and the refund drops 1% a month for 6 months, then stays at 90% of the entrance fee. The refund (less unpaid charges) is paid only once your apartment has been reserved by a new resident who has paid their entrance fee; there is no deadline.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
1% a month for 6 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Range across refund plans (plan not specified)p. 25

The published entrance-fee table gives one price per apartment and does not say which of the three refund options (Standard, 50% or 90% Refundable) it applies to.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: 0%

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Scotia Village is part of Brightspire obligated group (The Presbyterian Homes, Inc.: Scotia Village, River Landing at Sandy Ridge, Glenaire), under parent Kintura.
  • Balance sheet: Scotia Village (Scotia Village column of the Presbyterian Homes combining statement).
  • Ratios: Scotia Village (community only).

Days cash on hand

248 days FY2025p. 38

Debt service coverage

6.47x FY2025p. 38

Read with these figuresFY2025 is a 15-month period (Oct 2024-Dec 2025) after a fiscal-year-end change. The 248 days appears to count Scotia Village's $4.4M statutory operating reserve: its cash ($0.16M) and investments ($6.26M) alone are about 147 days of cash operating expenses (p78, p81). The Brightspire obligated group reports 738 days and 2.08x (p38, p40).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 79FY2024p. 38FY2023p. 38
Days cash on hand248 days238 days229 days
Debt service coverage6.47x2.64x1.72x
Operating margin3.83%2.41%-2.15%
Total assets$39.6 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$15.4 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$2.6 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$9.7 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$274,178Not disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$24.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Bernard Robinson & Company, L.L.P.. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 79

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 212024p. 212023p. 212022p. 212021p. 21
Independent living98.41%97.62%95.2%91.87%91.06%
Assisted living75%78.13%81.25%71.88%75%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care98.28%91.38%96.55%93.1%75.86%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2025-12 Changed fiscal year-end from September 30 to December 31; FY2025 statements cover the 15 months from October 1, 2024 to December 31, 2025.p. 35

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 3. Scotia Village - SNF on Care Compare

In brief

Scotia Village is a Presbyterian-affiliated continuing care retirement community in Laurinburg with 126 independent living units, 32 assisted living units and 58 skilled nursing beds, run as a division of The Presbyterian Homes, Inc. (Brightspire) under Kintura. Entrance fees run from $54,000 to $444,000, with Standard, 50% and 90% refund options, and residents get 14 days of Health Center care a year included, then nursing at 80% of the daily rate. FY2025 covers a 15-month period after a fiscal-year-end change.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.