Skip to content

Shenandoah Valley Westminster-Canterbury

300 Westminster-Canterbury Drive, Winchester, Virginia 22603

Operator:
Westminster-Canterbury of Winchester, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Organized under guidelines approved by Virginia Diocesan Homes (Episcopal) and the Synod of the Virginias of the Presbyterian Church (p7)
Opened:
1987

Westminster-Canterbury of Winchester, Inc., a not-for-profit Virginia non-stock corporation trading as Shenandoah Valley Westminster-Canterbury; holds fee simple title, subject to a first mortgage held by the bond trustee (p2). Statements consolidate a subsidiary.

  • Type A (life care)
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2024 disclosure statement (fiscal 2023 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2023; this is the newest statement we have for Shenandoah Valley Westminster-Canterbury, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$110,274 to $880,318p. 23p. 18

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,396 to $6,850p. 24p. 17

Refund plans offered

  • 100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month RefundCan decline to nothing
  • 50% RefundNever less than 47.5% of the fee
  • 100% RefundNever less than 95% of the fee
  • Assisted Living 3.8%/25 Month RefundCan decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

598 (FY2023, calculated by us)p. 109Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Computed by us from the audited statements; the document reports no liquidity or coverage ratios. Long-term investments may include the $1.0M board-designated endowment.

Independent living occupancy

87.7% (2023)p. 143

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.
  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)The filing calls it Life Care; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Assisted living and health center care with no increase in the Monthly Fee, apart from a $300-a-month expanded dietary services fee on permanent transfer (2024, p27). For comparison, in 2024 assisted living rented without a contract for $8,116-$9,233 a month and memory support and health care cost $419 a day ($584 skilled) (p25).p. 26

Assisted living
Same Monthly Fee as the apartment/cottage plus a nominal expanded-dietary fee ($300/month in 2024)
Nursing care
Same Monthly Fee as the apartment/cottage plus a nominal expanded-dietary fee ($300/month in 2024)

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Modified Care; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

30 non-cumulative days of assisted living or health center care per year at the regular Monthly Fee; after that the then-current assisted living or health center rate applies (2024: memory support and health care $419 a day, skilled nursing $584, assisted living rental $8,116-$9,233 a month; p25).p. 26

Assisted living
Monthly Fee for 30 non-cumulative days a year, then the then-current assisted living rate
Nursing care
Monthly Fee for 30 non-cumulative days a year, then the then-current health center rate
Care days included
30
Units on campusp. 143
Independent living261
Assisted living48
Memory care12
Nursing care51

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Life Care - Option A · Type A (life care) (7 prices, $146,855 to $736,936)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Apartment - Studio485100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$146,855p. 17Not listed
Apartment - 1 Bedroom709 to 970100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$211,646 to $287,205p. 17$51,364
Apartment - 2 Bedroom970 to 1,418100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$294,515 to $427,735p. 17$51,364
Cottage1,563 to 2,550100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$496,024 to $736,936p. 17$51,364
Westbury Commons home2,027 to 2,543100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$590,560 to $735,121p. 17$51,364
Lady Slipper-Magnolia plans1,410 to 1,987100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$428,628 to $630,812p. 17$51,364
Pine-Fraser Fir plans1,186 to 2,036100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$436,392 to $733,580p. 17$51,364
Life Care - Option B · Type A (life care) (7 prices, $234,615 to $880,318)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Apartment - Studio485100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$234,615p. 18Not listed
Apartment - 1 Bedroom709 to 970100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$299,829 to $372,244p. 18$70,065
Apartment - 2 Bedroom970 to 1,418100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$380,936 to $529,602p. 18$70,065
Cottage1,563 to 2,550100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$599,112 to $841,543p. 18$70,065
Westbury Commons home2,027 to 2,543100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$705,624 to $840,998p. 18$70,065
Lady Slipper-Magnolia plans1,410 to 1,987100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$523,734 to $746,119p. 18$70,065
Pine-Fraser Fir plans1,186 to 2,036100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$523,736 to $880,318p. 18$70,065
Modified Care - Option A · Type B (modified) (7 prices, $110,274 to $554,754)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Apartment - Studio485100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$110,274p. 23Not listed
Apartment - 1 Bedroom709 to 970100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$159,923 to $215,419p. 23$45,185
Apartment - 2 Bedroom970 to 1,418100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$221,684 to $333,205p. 23$45,185
Cottage1,563 to 2,550100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$367,763 to $554,754p. 23$45,185
Westbury Commons home2,027 to 2,543100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$439,374 to $553,387p. 23$45,185
Lady Slipper-Magnolia plans1,410 to 1,987100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$336,726 to $474,619p. 23$45,185
Pine-Fraser Fir plans1,186 to 2,036100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$327,322 to $550,267p. 23$45,185
Modified Care - Option B · Type B (modified) (7 prices, $175,869 to $660,321)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Apartment - Studio485100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$175,869p. 24Not listed
Apartment - 1 Bedroom709 to 970100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$226,216 to $279,316p. 24$62,784
Apartment - 2 Bedroom970 to 1,418100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$286,019 to $413,386p. 24$62,784
Cottage1,563 to 2,550100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$450,238 to $630,470p. 24$62,784
Westbury Commons home2,027 to 2,543100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$527,427 to $628,625p. 24$62,784
Lady Slipper-Magnolia plans1,410 to 1,987100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$409,934 to $560,455p. 24$62,784
Pine-Fraser Fir plans1,186 to 2,036100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund$392,830 to $660,321p. 24$62,784
Assisted Living Lifecare Contract · Type A (life care) (1 prices, $141,214 to $187,379)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Assisted Living - Contract Suite / DeluxeAssisted Living 3.8%/25 Month Refund$141,214 to $187,379p. 25$88,233

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Life Care - Option A · Type A (life care) (7 prices, $3,616 to $6,850)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apartment - StudioIndependent living$3,616p. 17Not listed
Apartment - 1 BedroomIndependent living$4,282 to $5,049p. 17$2,104
Apartment - 2 BedroomIndependent living$5,170 to $5,892p. 17$2,104
CottageIndependent living$5,967 to $6,850p. 17$2,104
Westbury Commons homeIndependent living$6,161 to $6,826p. 17$2,104
Lady Slipper-Magnolia plansIndependent living$5,875 to $6,306p. 17$2,104
Pine-Fraser Fir plansIndependent living$5,676 to $6,435p. 17$2,104
Life Care - Option B · Type A (life care) (7 prices, $2,700 to $6,056)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apartment - StudioIndependent living$2,700p. 18Not listed
Apartment - 1 BedroomIndependent living$3,370 to $4,132p. 18$1,886
Apartment - 2 BedroomIndependent living$4,248 to $4,951p. 18$1,886
CottageIndependent living$5,049 to $6,056p. 18$1,886
Westbury Commons homeIndependent living$5,176 to $6,041p. 18$1,886
Lady Slipper-Magnolia plansIndependent living$4,935 to $5,394p. 18$1,886
Pine-Fraser Fir plansIndependent living$4,729 to $5,364p. 18$1,886
Modified Care - Option A · Type B (modified) (7 prices, $3,204 to $6,064)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apartment - StudioIndependent living$3,204p. 23Not listed
Apartment - 1 BedroomIndependent living$3,795 to $4,459p. 23$1,852
Apartment - 2 BedroomIndependent living$4,574 to $5,211p. 23$1,852
CottageIndependent living$5,279 to $6,064p. 23$1,852
Westbury Commons homeIndependent living$5,451 to $6,041p. 23$1,852
Lady Slipper-Magnolia plansIndependent living$5,198 to $5,583p. 23$1,852
Pine-Fraser Fir plansIndependent living$5,119 to $5,800p. 23$1,852
Modified Care - Option B · Type B (modified) (7 prices, $2,396 to $5,359)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apartment - StudioIndependent living$2,396p. 24Not listed
Apartment - 1 BedroomIndependent living$2,991 to $3,650p. 24$1,656
Apartment - 2 BedroomIndependent living$3,753 to $4,385p. 24$1,656
CottageIndependent living$4,459 to $5,359p. 24$1,656
Westbury Commons homeIndependent living$4,586 to $5,335p. 24$1,656
Lady Slipper-Magnolia plansIndependent living$4,367 to $4,774p. 24$1,656
Pine-Fraser Fir plansIndependent living$4,260 to $4,830p. 24$1,656
Assisted Living Lifecare Contract · Type A (life care) (1 prices, $6,396 to $7,234)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Assisted Living - Contract Suite / DeluxeAssisted living$6,396 to $7,234p. 25$3,439

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 2.75%20212022: 4.5%20222023: 6.5%20232024: 3%2024
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2024Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 14
2023Independent livingAll units6.5%Percent onlyp. 14
2022Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 14
2021Independent livingAll units2.75%Percent onlyp. 14

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refundp. 60

A 5% administrative fee is kept; the rest (the 'Refund-Eligible Entrance Fee') is fully refundable for 12 months, then declines 2.5% a month so nothing is refundable after 50 months. This is the plan the published rate schedules price.

Kept on move-in
5% of the fee
Declines by
2.5% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2024 filing

50% Refundp. 58

After the 5% administrative fee, fully refundable for 12 months; from month 13 the refund declines 2% a month and is never less than 50% of the refund-eligible fee, reaching 50% at month 37 (audit note 11, p129). Priced separately; prices not in the document.

Kept on move-in
5% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 37 months
Never less than
47.5% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2024 filing

100% Refundp. 59

After the 5% administrative fee, 100% of the refund-eligible entrance fee is refunded on termination or death. Priced separately; prices not in the document.

Kept on move-in
5% of the fee
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
95% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2024 filing

Assisted Living 3.8%/25 Month Refundp. 88

For entry directly to assisted living: the refund-eligible fee declines 3.8% a month and nothing is refundable after 25 months (the fee sheet on p25 says 4%).

Kept on move-in
5% of the fee
Declines by
3.8% a month for 25 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2024 filing

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: Westminster-Canterbury of Winchester, Inc. and Subsidiary (consolidated).
  • Days cash on hand was calculated by us from the audited statements using the standard formula. The formula

Days cash on hand

598 days FY2023p. 109

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2024 filing

Read with these figuresComputed by us from the audited statements; the document reports no liquidity or coverage ratios. Long-term investments may include the $1.0M board-designated endowment.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet

Fiscal yearFY2023p. 110
Total assets$225.4 million
Total liabilities$188.6 million
Long-term debt$81.1 million
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$77.9 million
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$321,244
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$36.8 million

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 110

Occupancy

Level of care2023p. 143
Independent living87.7%
Assisted living90.2%
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing care86.3%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 3. SHENANDOAH VALLEY WESTMINSTER CANTERBURY on Care Compare

CARF-accredited since 1995. Check on CARF’s site

In brief

Shenandoah Valley Westminster-Canterbury is a nonprofit continuing care community in Winchester, open since 1987, with 261 independent living residences (apartments, cottages, Westbury Commons homes and villa apartments), 48 assisted living apartments, 12 memory support rooms and 51 health center rooms. It sells Life Care contracts (no monthly fee increase for assisted living or nursing) and Modified Care contracts (30 days of care a year), with one-person entrance fees effective January 1, 2024 from $110,274 to $880,318 depending on contract and option. Every figure here comes from the April 2024 filing: fees are 2024 prices and the financials are for calendar 2023, when the community posted an operating loss of $449,450.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.