Home › Compare
The Village at Orchard Ridge and Shenandoah Valley Westminster-Canterbury compared
Two Virginia communities about 2 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | The Village at Orchard Ridge | Shenandoah Valley Westminster-Canterbury |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Winchester, VA | Winchester, VA |
| Filing used | 2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF | 2024 statement, fiscal 2023 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type C (fee for service), Rental | Type A (life care), Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $276,610 to $1,268,780p. 14 | $110,274 to $880,318p. 23p. 18 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $2,902 to $4,949p. 14p. 15 | $2,396 to $6,850p. 24p. 17 |
| Refund plans | Traditional Declining Refund; 50% Refund; 80% Refundp. 25 | 100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund; 50% Refund; 100% Refund; Assisted Living 3.8%/25 Month Refundp. 60p. 58p. 59p. 88 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 80% of the feep. 25 | 95% of the feep. 60p. 58p. 59p. 88 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 25 | Not disclosed in the 2024 filing |
| Days cash on hand | 217 days (FY2024, interim)p. 88The reported 217 days cash on hand is management's figure from the disclosure narrative, not an audited ratio, and it only holds by counting outside money: a $13.96M beneficial interest in investments held by affiliate National Lutheran Home for the Aged under a debt support agreement. On its own cash and investments ($2.84M on the audited balance sheet) Orchard Ridge had about 42 days of cash operating expenses. | 598 days (FY2023, calculated)p. 109Computed by us from the audited statements; the document reports no liquidity or coverage ratios. Long-term investments may include the $1.0M board-designated endowment. |
| Its lenders' minimum | At least 125 daysp. 88 | Not disclosed in the 2024 filing |
| Debt service coverage | 2.10x (FY2024, interim)p. 88The reported 217 days cash on hand is management's figure from the disclosure narrative, not an audited ratio, and it only holds by counting outside money: a $13.96M beneficial interest in investments held by affiliate National Lutheran Home for the Aged under a debt support agreement. On its own cash and investments ($2.84M on the audited balance sheet) Orchard Ridge had about 42 days of cash operating expenses. | Not disclosed in the 2024 filingComputed by us from the audited statements; the document reports no liquidity or coverage ratios. Long-term investments may include the $1.0M board-designated endowment. |
| Independent living occupancy | 95% (2024)p. 92 | 87.7% (2023)p. 143 |
| Net position | −$19.3 million (FY2024)p. 63 | $36.8 million (FY2023)p. 110 |
| Whose finances | The Village at Orchard Ridge, Inc.p. 63 | Westminster-Canterbury of Winchester, Inc. and Subsidiary (consolidated)p. 110 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Baker Tilly US, LLPp. 63 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 110 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) | 4 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
The Village at Orchard Ridge
Type C (fee for service): Entrance-fee residents get priority access to assisted living, memory care and nursing but pay the then-published rates. A guaranteed refundable entrance fee balance may be applied to care at the community once other resources are depleted. Rental residents have no contractual priority access.p. 12
Shenandoah Valley Westminster-Canterbury
Type A (life care): Assisted living and health center care with no increase in the Monthly Fee, apart from a $300-a-month expanded dietary services fee on permanent transfer (2024, p27). For comparison, in 2024 assisted living rented without a contract for $8,116-$9,233 a month and memory support and health care cost $419 a day ($584 skilled) (p25).p. 26
Type B (modified): 30 non-cumulative days of assisted living or health center care per year at the regular Monthly Fee; after that the then-current assisted living or health center rate applies (2024: memory support and health care $419 a day, skilled nursing $584, assisted living rental $8,116-$9,233 a month; p25).p. 26