Home › Compare
Ashby Ponds and Shenandoah Valley Westminster-Canterbury compared
Two Virginia communities about 40 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Ashby Ponds | Shenandoah Valley Westminster-Canterbury |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Ashburn, VA | Winchester, VA |
| Filing used | 2024 statement, fiscal 2023 financesPDF | 2024 statement, fiscal 2023 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type C (fee for service) | Type A (life care), Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $274,000 to $1,417,000p. 102 | $110,274 to $880,318p. 23p. 18 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $2,988 to $5,004p. 102 | $2,396 to $6,850p. 24p. 17 |
| Refund plans | 90% Refund Amountp. 25 | 100%/12 then 2.5%/38 Month Refund; 50% Refund; 100% Refund; Assisted Living 3.8%/25 Month Refundp. 60p. 58p. 59p. 88 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 90% of the feep. 25 | 95% of the feep. 60p. 58p. 59p. 88 |
| When a refund is paid | In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance feesp. 25 | Not disclosed in the 2024 filing |
| Days cash on hand | 137 days (FY2023, calculated)p. 114 | 598 days (FY2023, calculated)p. 109Computed by us from the audited statements; the document reports no liquidity or coverage ratios. Long-term investments may include the $1.0M board-designated endowment. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2024 filing | Not disclosed in the 2024 filing |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2024 filing | Not disclosed in the 2024 filingComputed by us from the audited statements; the document reports no liquidity or coverage ratios. Long-term investments may include the $1.0M board-designated endowment. |
| Independent living occupancy | 97.4% (2023)p. 192 | 87.7% (2023)p. 143 |
| Net position | −$88.0 million (FY2023)p. 114 | $36.8 million (FY2023)p. 110 |
| Whose finances | Ashby Ponds, Inc.p. 114 | Westminster-Canterbury of Winchester, Inc. and Subsidiary (consolidated)p. 110 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLPp. 114 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 110 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 4 of 5 (CMS overall) | 4 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Ashby Ponds
Type C (fee for service): Residents who move to assisted living, memory care or nursing pay that level's monthly package or daily rate; there is no life-care discount. If those units are full, the Medical Director arranges services in the resident's apartment or a transfer to an off-site facility.p. 104
Shenandoah Valley Westminster-Canterbury
Type A (life care): Assisted living and health center care with no increase in the Monthly Fee, apart from a $300-a-month expanded dietary services fee on permanent transfer (2024, p27). For comparison, in 2024 assisted living rented without a contract for $8,116-$9,233 a month and memory support and health care cost $419 a day ($584 skilled) (p25).p. 26
Type B (modified): 30 non-cumulative days of assisted living or health center care per year at the regular Monthly Fee; after that the then-current assisted living or health center rate applies (2024: memory support and health care $419 a day, skilled nursing $584, assisted living rental $8,116-$9,233 a month; p25).p. 26