Skip to content

Home › Compare

Sanders and Warwick Forest compared

Two Virginia communities about 18 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureSandersWarwick Forest
LocationGloucester, VANewport News, VA
Filing used2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF
Contract typesRentalType B (modified), Type C (fee for service)
Entrance fee, one personNone: rental$148,328 to $377,659p. 127
Monthly fee, independent living$3,567 to $4,137p. 36$3,388 to $4,486p. 127
Refund plansNone: rental contractBASE Plan (Declining Refund); Plan 90; Plan 50p. 45p. 46
Highest guaranteed refundNone: rental contract90% of the feep. 45p. 46
When a refund is paidNone: rental contractWhen your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 45p. 46
Days cash on handNot disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for Sanders Common, Ltd.609 days (FY2024, calculated)p. 40Figures for Warwick Forest division. Computed by us from Riverside Health's divisional schedule (p176-178): Warwick Forest's $26.0M of investments and $1K cash over cash operating expenses. The same column shows a net $14.9M due to Riverside affiliates; net of that, cash and investments cover about 260 days.
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2025 filingNot disclosed in the 2025 filing
Debt service coverageNot disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for Sanders Common, Ltd.Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for Warwick Forest division. Computed by us from Riverside Health's divisional schedule (p176-178): Warwick Forest's $26.0M of investments and $1K cash over cash operating expenses. The same column shows a net $14.9M due to Riverside affiliates; net of that, cash and investments cover about 260 days.
Independent living occupancy98% (2024)p. 3093% (2024)p. 40
Net position−$689,002 (FY2024)p. 30$14.6 million (FY2024)p. 40
Whose financesSanders Common, Ltd.p. 30Warwick Forest (division of Riverside Retirement Services, Inc.; supplementary consolidating schedule in Riverside Health's audit); ratios for Warwick Forest divisionp. 40
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, KPMG LLPp. 30Unmodified (clean) opinion, KPMG LLPp. 40
Nursing care, CMS rating5 of 5 (CMS overall)2 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Sanders

Rental: Sanders now offers only one-year leases (then month to month) with no entrance fee. Tenants get priority access to assisted living and the on-campus nursing center but pay the regular rates.p. 47

Warwick Forest

Type B (modified): LifeCare residents get 10 free days of assisted living or nursing over the life of the contract, then pay a flat monthly Health Services Resident Rate ($4,282 in 2025) that the agreement calls a discounted rate; during temporary stays they also keep paying their apartment's monthly fee.p. 50

Type C (fee for service): LifePlan residents have priority access to assisted living and the nursing center but pay the published daily market rates. The market rates are not stated in the document.p. 89

Questions to ask both communities before you sign