Skip to content

Home › Compare

Cedarfield and Westminster Canterbury Richmond compared

Two Virginia communities about 7 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureCedarfieldWestminster Canterbury Richmond
LocationRichmond, VARichmond, VA
Filing used2025 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesType A (life care), Type C (fee for service)Type A (life care), Type B (modified)
Entrance fee, one person$183,600 to $908,300p. 18p. 17$135,485 to $1,074,558p. 98p. 89
Monthly fee, independent living$2,400 to $8,240p. 18p. 17$2,406 to $12,317p. 98p. 89
Refund plansDeclining Balance Refund; 50% Refund; 70% Refund; 80% Refund; 90% Refundp. 32p. 33Standard declining refund (Type A/B); 50% guaranteed refund option; 70% guaranteed refund option; 90% guaranteed refund option; Assisted Living declining refundp. 13
Highest guaranteed refund90% of the feep. 32p. 3390% of the feep. 13
When a refund is paidWhen your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 32p. 33When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 13
Days cash on hand385 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 125Figures for Pinnacle Living (Virginia United Methodist Homes, Inc.). Computed by us: Pinnacle Living unrestricted cash $2.97M plus investments $65.18M over operating expenses less depreciation. Excludes $16.2M of assets whose use is limited (bond funds) and the $51.4M of investments held by affiliate Hermitage Capital & Reserve Corp. The disclosure reports no days-cash or coverage ratio.1310 days (FY2025, interim)p. 23FY2025 ratios are management-reported for the Obligated Group, which excludes the Foundation and the Development Corporation. FY2025 investment income included $36.8 million of realized gains from a change of investment advisors. The days-cash figure is consistent with Westminster-Canterbury Corporation's own balance sheet: cash $57.4 million plus investments $206.3 million at September 30, 2025 (p151); it does not rely on the Foundation's $94.4 million.
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2025 filingNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Debt service coverageNot disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for Pinnacle Living (Virginia United Methodist Homes, Inc.). Computed by us: Pinnacle Living unrestricted cash $2.97M plus investments $65.18M over operating expenses less depreciation. Excludes $16.2M of assets whose use is limited (bond funds) and the $51.4M of investments held by affiliate Hermitage Capital & Reserve Corp. The disclosure reports no days-cash or coverage ratio.7.48x (FY2025, interim)p. 23FY2025 ratios are management-reported for the Obligated Group, which excludes the Foundation and the Development Corporation. FY2025 investment income included $36.8 million of realized gains from a change of investment advisors. The days-cash figure is consistent with Westminster-Canterbury Corporation's own balance sheet: cash $57.4 million plus investments $206.3 million at September 30, 2025 (p151); it does not rely on the Foundation's $94.4 million.
Independent living occupancy91% (2025)p. 14287.9% (2025)p. 20
Net position$66.9 million (FY2025)p. 123$202.5 million (FY2025)p. 151
Whose financesPinnacle Living (Virginia United Methodist Homes, Inc.), excluding WindsorMeade and Hermitage Capital & Reserve Corp.; ratios for Pinnacle Living (Virginia United Methodist Homes, Inc.)p. 123Westminster-Canterbury Corporation (column of the Westminster-Canterbury Management Corporation consolidating balance sheet); ratios for Obligated Groupp. 151
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, Brown, Edwards & Company, L.L.P.p. 123Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 151
Nursing care, CMS ratingNo CMS record linked5 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Cedarfield

Type A (life care): Independent living and all health services (assisted living, memory support and nursing) are provided at a constant Monthly Service Fee regardless of level of care; the fee itself can be adjusted.p. 14

Type C (fee for service): Only independent living is covered by the Monthly Service Fee; assisted living, memory support and nursing are paid at the then-current posted rates (set out in the agreement's Appendix B, not reproduced in the fee schedule). Preferred Choice residents get priority for health services after Lifecare residents and ahead of non-residents.p. 14

Westminster Canterbury Richmond

Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or the Health Center does not add to the monthly fee. A resident who chooses a deluxe nursing room pays the additional daily rate.p. 12

Type B (modified): Lower entrance and monthly fees than Type A, but assisted living and nursing are billed per day at a 10% discount from the current daily rate, plus ancillaries.p. 51

Questions to ask both communities before you sign