Home › Compare
Abernethy Laurels and Stanley Total Living Center compared
Two North Carolina communities about 21 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Abernethy Laurels | Stanley Total Living Center |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Newton, NC | Stanley, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type B (modified), Rental | Type C (fee for service) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $40,500 to $543,000p. 28 | $36,000 to $42,000p. 22 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $1,949 to $5,094p. 26 | $3,531 to $4,267p. 21 |
| Refund plans | Fully Declining (0% Refundable); 50% Refundablep. 49p. 48 | Entrance Deposit ($4,800 refundable portion)p. 81 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 50% of the feep. 49p. 48 | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 49p. 48 | Within a fixed number of daysp. 81 |
| Days cash on hand | 566 days (FY2025)p. 2Figures for EveryAge (provider only; includes Piedmont Crossing). Provider-level ratios for EveryAge. The bond obligated group (which adds Lake Prince Woods, Providence Place, BellaAge Hickory and others) reported 342 days cash on hand and 2.72x debt service coverage for FY2025 (p44, p46). Provider-level days cash rests on $78,345,214 of unrestricted cash and investments held by EveryAge (Table 29.1-29.2, p39-40). | 152 days (FY2025)p. 2 |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Debt service coverage | 5.26x (FY2025)p. 2Figures for EveryAge (provider only; includes Piedmont Crossing). Provider-level ratios for EveryAge. The bond obligated group (which adds Lake Prince Woods, Providence Place, BellaAge Hickory and others) reported 342 days cash on hand and 2.72x debt service coverage for FY2025 (p44, p46). Provider-level days cash rests on $78,345,214 of unrestricted cash and investments held by EveryAge (Table 29.1-29.2, p39-40). | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Independent living occupancy | 91.98% (2025)p. 23 | 94% (2025)p. 18 |
| Net position | $69.6 million (FY2025)p. 2 | $26.9 million (FY2025)p. 47 |
| Whose finances | EveryAge and Affiliates (combined); ratios for EveryAge (provider only; includes Piedmont Crossing)p. 2 | Stanley Total Living Center, Inc.; ratios for Stanley Total Living Center, Inc. (provider only)p. 47 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 2 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Gatewood, Bagley & Huffman, CPAs, PCp. 47 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) | 4 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Abernethy Laurels
Type B (modified): Assisted living and nursing are paid at the per diem rates with a fixed daily discount for contract holders; residential living residents also get 12 non-cumulative nurse visits a year. If no bed is available, residents get priority application at other EveryAge nursing facilities.p. 27
Stanley Total Living Center
Type C (fee for service): Fee-for-service: apartment residents who move to assisted living or nursing pay the Health Center's published daily rates; no days are included and no discount is stated. Residents get priority for a bed when one is available and their insurance is one the facility contracts with.p. 86