Skip to content

Salemtowne

1000 Salemtowne Drive, Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27106 · Community website

Operator:
Moravian Home, Incorporated d/b/a Salemtowne
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Moravian Church in America, Southern Province
Opened:
1972
  • Type B (modified)
  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2026 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$93,800 to $675,100p. 82

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,924 to $6,142p. 82

Refund plans offered

  • Traditional Amortizing PlanCan decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

247 (FY2026)p. 2Its lenders require at least 150.
Read the note on this figure

Unreconciled cash figure: the 247 days rest on $25,031,241 of unrestricted cash and investments reported in Section 29 (Tables 29.1-29.2, p36), but the audited balance sheet shows cash of $3,942,756 plus investments of $16,043,902 = $19,986,658 (p49), about 198 days on the same expense base (p51); the $8,005,000 statutory operating reserve is held separately as assets limited as to use (p49). The document does not explain the $5.04M difference. The 7.1% net operating margin is the NC statutory ratio (FS-1, p2); the audited statement of operations shows an operating loss of $709,937 on $41,752,771 of revenue for FY2026 (p51).

Independent living occupancy

97.4% (2026)p. 18

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.
  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Declining Balance Contract (Type B); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

A 20% lifetime discount on the assisted living, memory support and nursing fees paid by direct admissions; no free days. The entrance fee is about $30,000 higher than the Type C contract.p. 41

Assisted living
Direct-admission monthly fee less 20% (assisted living $7,408-$9,828, memory support $12,062 before discount).
Nursing care
Direct-admission daily fee less 20% ($519/day before discount).
Discount on care
20%

Type C (fee for service)The filing calls it Fee for Service Contract (Type C); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Assisted living, memory support and nursing are paid at the same rates as direct admissions. Ten assisted living, ten memory support and sixteen nursing beds are sheltered for residents and not open to direct admits.p. 41

Assisted living
Market rate: $7,408/month room, $9,828/month suite; memory support $12,062/month.
Nursing care
Market rate: $519/day private room.
Units on campusp. 16
Independent living221
Assisted living46
Memory care20
Nursing care100

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Fee for Service Contract (Type C) · Type C (fee for service) (25 prices, $93,800 to $675,100)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Apartment – Vogler/Bahnson – Forsyth (1 bedroom)530Traditional Amortizing Plan$93,800 to $114,000p. 82$20,000
Apartment – Vogler/Bahnson – Winston A or B (2 bedroom)790Traditional Amortizing Plan$125,300 to $138,200p. 82$20,000
Apartment – Vogler/Bahnson – West End (1 bedroom, den & laundry)790Traditional Amortizing Plan$125,300 to $135,600p. 82$20,000
Apartment – Vogler/Bahnson – Buena Vista (2 bedroom, den & laundry)1,055Traditional Amortizing Plan$173,100 to $188,500p. 82$20,000
Apartment – Driscoll – Reynolda (1 bedroom)751Traditional Amortizing Plan$163,000 to $203,200p. 82$20,000
Apartment – Driscoll – Sherwood (1 bedroom w/den)936Traditional Amortizing Plan$194,000 to $210,100p. 82$20,000
Apartment – Driscoll – Piedmont (2 bedroom)1,073Traditional Amortizing Plan$241,200 to $257,900p. 82$20,000
Apartment – Driscoll – Brookstown (2 bedroom corner)1,107Traditional Amortizing Plan$246,100 to $253,400p. 82$20,000
Apartment – Driscoll – Twin City (2 bedroom w/den)1,240Traditional Amortizing Plan$258,000 to $271,400p. 82$20,000
Apartment – Woodlands – Beech (1 bedroom w/den)1,215Traditional Amortizing Plan$255,500 to $304,200p. 82$20,000
Apartment – Woodlands – Dogwood (2 bedroom)1,395Traditional Amortizing Plan$350,200 to $412,100p. 82$20,000
Apartment – Woodlands – Hawthorne (2 bedroom)1,490Traditional Amortizing Plan$350,900 to $440,200p. 82$20,000
Apartment – Woodlands – Pine (2 bedroom w/den)1,640Traditional Amortizing Plan$422,300 to $510,200p. 82$20,000
Apartment – Woodlands – Sycamore (2 bedroom w/sunroom)1,750Traditional Amortizing Plan$414,900 to $537,800p. 82$20,000
Apartment – Woodlands – Willow (2 bedroom w/sunroom)1,875Traditional Amortizing Plan$495,300 to $603,400p. 82$20,000
Cottage – Wachovia Village – Hatteras (2 bedroom)1,172Traditional Amortizing Plan$269,400 to $280,400p. 82$20,000
Cottage – Wachovia Village – Emerald (2 bedroom w/den)1,356Traditional Amortizing Plan$312,000 to $332,600p. 82$20,000
Cottage – Salem Village – Bethania (2 bedroom w/den)1,533Traditional Amortizing Plan$413,000 to $420,300p. 82$20,000
Cottage – Salem Village – Hickory (2 bedroom w/sunroom/den)1,560 to 1,755Traditional Amortizing Plan$403,000 to $489,500p. 82$20,000
Cottage – Salem Village – Catawba (2-3 bedroom w/den & sunroom)1,678 to 3,210Traditional Amortizing Plan$430,400 to $675,100p. 82$20,000
Cottage – Bethabara Place – Mitchell (2 bedroom)1,440Traditional Amortizing Plan$398,930p. 82$20,000
Cottage – Bethabara Place – Shenandoah (2 bedroom w/den)1,617 to 1,698Traditional Amortizing Plan$469,500 to $584,400p. 82$20,000
Cottage – Bethabara Place – Appalachian (2 bedroom w/sunroom)1,640 to 1,750Traditional Amortizing Plan$475,700 to $491,800p. 82$20,000
Cottage – Bethabara Place – Rutherford (2 bedroom w/den & sunroom)1,817 to 2,100Traditional Amortizing Plan$511,800 to $642,500p. 82$20,000
Cottage – Bethabara Place – Watauga (2 bedroom w/den & sunroom)3,200Traditional Amortizing Plan$454,292 to $596,754p. 82$20,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Declining Balance Contract (Type B) · Type B (modified) (25 prices, $2,924 to $6,142)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apartment – Vogler/Bahnson – Forsyth (1 bedroom)Independent living$2,924p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Vogler/Bahnson – Winston A or B (2 bedroom)Independent living$3,297p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Vogler/Bahnson – West End (1 bedroom, den & laundry)Independent living$3,297p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Vogler/Bahnson – Buena Vista (2 bedroom, den & laundry)Independent living$3,682p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Driscoll – Reynolda (1 bedroom)Independent living$3,476p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Driscoll – Sherwood (1 bedroom w/den)Independent living$3,862p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Driscoll – Piedmont (2 bedroom)Independent living$4,348p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Driscoll – Brookstown (2 bedroom corner)Independent living$4,354p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Driscoll – Twin City (2 bedroom w/den)Independent living$4,665p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Woodlands – Beech (1 bedroom w/den)Independent living$4,532p. 82$972
Apartment – Woodlands – Dogwood (2 bedroom)Independent living$4,752p. 82$972
Apartment – Woodlands – Hawthorne (2 bedroom)Independent living$4,868p. 82$972
Apartment – Woodlands – Pine (2 bedroom w/den)Independent living$5,071p. 82$972
Apartment – Woodlands – Sycamore (2 bedroom w/sunroom)Independent living$5,275p. 82$972
Apartment – Woodlands – Willow (2 bedroom w/sunroom)Independent living$5,376p. 82$972
Cottage – Wachovia Village – Hatteras (2 bedroom)Independent living$3,946p. 82$951
Cottage – Wachovia Village – Emerald (2 bedroom w/den)Independent living$4,112p. 82$951
Cottage – Salem Village – Bethania (2 bedroom w/den)Independent living$4,513p. 82$951
Cottage – Salem Village – Hickory (2 bedroom w/sunroom/den)Independent living$4,593 to $5,061p. 82$951
Cottage – Salem Village – Catawba (2-3 bedroom w/den & sunroom)Independent living$4,837 to $5,718p. 82$951
Cottage – Bethabara Place – Mitchell (2 bedroom)Independent living$4,591p. 82$951
Cottage – Bethabara Place – Shenandoah (2 bedroom w/den)Independent living$4,834 to $5,821p. 82$951
Cottage – Bethabara Place – Appalachian (2 bedroom w/sunroom)Independent living$4,913 to $5,002p. 82$951
Cottage – Bethabara Place – Rutherford (2 bedroom w/den & sunroom)Independent living$5,315 to $6,142p. 82$951
Cottage – Bethabara Place – Watauga (2 bedroom w/den & sunroom)Independent living$5,987p. 82$951
Fee for Service Contract (Type C) · Type C (fee for service) (28 prices, $2,924 to $12,062)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apartment – Vogler/Bahnson – Forsyth (1 bedroom)Independent living$2,924p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Vogler/Bahnson – Winston A or B (2 bedroom)Independent living$3,297p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Vogler/Bahnson – West End (1 bedroom, den & laundry)Independent living$3,297p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Vogler/Bahnson – Buena Vista (2 bedroom, den & laundry)Independent living$3,682p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Driscoll – Reynolda (1 bedroom)Independent living$3,476p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Driscoll – Sherwood (1 bedroom w/den)Independent living$3,862p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Driscoll – Piedmont (2 bedroom)Independent living$4,348p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Driscoll – Brookstown (2 bedroom corner)Independent living$4,354p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Driscoll – Twin City (2 bedroom w/den)Independent living$4,665p. 82$1,216
Apartment – Woodlands – Beech (1 bedroom w/den)Independent living$4,532p. 82$972
Apartment – Woodlands – Dogwood (2 bedroom)Independent living$4,752p. 82$972
Apartment – Woodlands – Hawthorne (2 bedroom)Independent living$4,868p. 82$972
Apartment – Woodlands – Pine (2 bedroom w/den)Independent living$5,071p. 82$972
Apartment – Woodlands – Sycamore (2 bedroom w/sunroom)Independent living$5,275p. 82$972
Apartment – Woodlands – Willow (2 bedroom w/sunroom)Independent living$5,376p. 82$972
Cottage – Wachovia Village – Hatteras (2 bedroom)Independent living$3,946p. 82$951
Cottage – Wachovia Village – Emerald (2 bedroom w/den)Independent living$4,112p. 82$951
Cottage – Salem Village – Bethania (2 bedroom w/den)Independent living$4,513p. 82$951
Cottage – Salem Village – Hickory (2 bedroom w/sunroom/den)Independent living$4,593 to $5,061p. 82$951
Cottage – Salem Village – Catawba (2-3 bedroom w/den & sunroom)Independent living$4,837 to $5,718p. 82$951
Cottage – Bethabara Place – Mitchell (2 bedroom)Independent living$4,591p. 82$951
Cottage – Bethabara Place – Shenandoah (2 bedroom w/den)Independent living$4,834 to $5,821p. 82$951
Cottage – Bethabara Place – Appalachian (2 bedroom w/sunroom)Independent living$4,913 to $5,002p. 82$951
Cottage – Bethabara Place – Rutherford (2 bedroom w/den & sunroom)Independent living$5,315 to $6,142p. 82$951
Cottage – Bethabara Place – Watauga (2 bedroom w/den & sunroom)Independent living$5,987p. 82$951
Assisted living roomAssisted living$7,408p. 84Not listed
Assisted living suite (single occupancy)Assisted living$9,828p. 84Not listed
Memory support private roomMemory care$12,062p. 84Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 4.9%20222023: 8.5%20232024: 4%20242025: 4%20252026: 4%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 23
2025Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 23
2024Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 23
2023Independent livingAll units8.5%Percent onlyp. 23
2022Independent livingAll units4.9%Percent onlyp. 23

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Traditional Amortizing Planp. 30

The refund is the entrance fee less a 4% non-refundable fee, with the rest amortizing 2% for each month of occupancy; nothing is refunded after 48 months. No refund is paid on a move to assisted living or the Health Care Center, and any refund is paid within 30 days after the unit is reserved and the next resident has paid the full entrance fee.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 48 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Moravian Home, Incorporated d/b/a Salemtowne.
  • Ratios: Moravian Home, Incorporated d/b/a Salemtowne (provider only).

Days cash on hand

247 days FY2026p. 2

Debt service coverage

1.96x FY2026p. 2

Read with these figuresUnreconciled cash figure: the 247 days rest on $25,031,241 of unrestricted cash and investments reported in Section 29 (Tables 29.1-29.2, p36), but the audited balance sheet shows cash of $3,942,756 plus investments of $16,043,902 = $19,986,658 (p49), about 198 days on the same expense base (p51); the $8,005,000 statutory operating reserve is held separately as assets limited as to use (p49). The document does not explain the $5.04M difference. The 7.1% net operating margin is the NC statutory ratio (FS-1, p2); the audited statement of operations shows an operating loss of $709,937 on $41,752,771 of revenue for FY2026 (p51).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2026p. 49FY2025p. 2FY2024p. 2
Days cash on hand247 days202 days236 days
Debt service coverage1.96x1.46x1.66x
Operating margin7.1%3.9%9%
Total assets$124.1 million$122.2 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$116.6 million$116.9 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$74.5 million$76.4 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$33.5 million$31.8 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$1.1 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$7.5 million$5.3 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: Forvis Mazars. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 49

Occupancy

Level of care2026p. 182025p. 182024p. 182023p. 182022p. 18
Independent living97.4%97.7%97.1%97.6%95.4%
Assisted living93.7%93.3%97.3%94.8%95.4%
Memory care95%99.9%97.3%95.7%97.9%
Nursing care92%91.7%87.4%90.1%84%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 4. Salemtowne on Care Compare

In brief

Salemtowne in Winston-Salem is a nonprofit continuing care community affiliated with the Moravian Church, with 221 independent living units, 46 assisted living beds, 20 memory support units and 100 nursing beds, plus a continuing care at home program. Type C entrance fees run from $93,800 to $675,100 with monthly fees of $2,924 to $6,142 from April 2026; the Type B contract costs about $30,000 more and gives a 20% discount on care. For the year ended March 31, 2026 it reported 247 days cash on hand and 1.96x debt service coverage against covenants of 150 days and 1.20x.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.