Skip to content

Trinity Landing

5450 Trinity Landing Way, Wilmington, North Carolina 28409 · Community website

Operator:
Lutheran Retirement Center - Wilmington, Inc. (d/b/a Trinity Landing), managed by LSA Management, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Lutheran (North Carolina Evangelical Lutheran Church in America)
Opened:
2022

Subsidiary of Lutheran Services for the Aging, Inc.; skilled nursing is provided by an affiliate, Lutheran Home-Wilmington, Inc. (Trinity Grove).

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$165,961 to $859,999p. 27

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,656 to $6,377p. 24p. 25

Refund plans offered

  • 90% Refund PlanNever less than 90% of the fee
  • 50% Refund PlanNever less than 50% of the fee
  • Limited Refund PlanCan decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

248 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.Figures for Trinity Landing campus consolidated (Trinity Landing + Trinity Grove + Lutheran Home Wilmington Property), per Section 35
Read the note on this figure

Provider ratios cover the combined Wilmington campus (Trinity Landing, Trinity Grove nursing and the Wilmington property company), not the Trinity Landing balance sheet shown. The 248 days count $18.3M of cash and investments that includes the $3.3M statutory operating reserve; without the reserve the campus holds about $15.0M (≈203 days), and the Trinity Landing entity alone holds $12.6M of cash and investments. The LSA obligated group, jointly liable for the bonds, reported 408 days cash and 4.48x coverage for the same year (Table FS-2).

Independent living occupancy

98% (2025)p. 21

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Fee-for-service: skilled nursing and memory care are at Trinity Grove, an affiliated 100-bed nursing facility about two miles away, at its published daily rates with no included days or discount. Residents get priority admission if a bed is available and keep paying the monthly fee until their residence is vacated.p. 167

Assisted living
No assisted living on campus; none disclosed
Nursing care
Trinity Grove daily rate (private room $332/day, shared $320, memory care private $341, shared $321) plus the Trinity Landing monthly fee until the residence is vacated
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 20
Independent living208
Assisted livingNone on campus
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care100

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residency Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (39 prices, $165,961 to $859,999)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Pamlico - 1 BR (Apartment)Limited Refund Plan$165,961 to $203,308p. 27$12,406
Pamlico - 1 BR (Apartment)50% Refund Plan$240,655 to $294,802p. 27$17,990
Pamlico - 1 BR (Apartment)90% Refund Plan$298,775 to $365,977p. 27$22,332
Ocracoke - 1 BR / Den (Apartment)Limited Refund Plan$218,519 to $249,282p. 27$12,406
Ocracoke - 1 BR / Den (Apartment)50% Refund Plan$316,824 to $361,436p. 27$17,990
Ocracoke - 1 BR / Den (Apartment)90% Refund Plan$393,334 to $448,730p. 27$22,332
Currituck - 2 BR (Apartment)Limited Refund Plan$274,596 to $286,856p. 27$12,406
Currituck - 2 BR (Apartment)50% Refund Plan$398,215 to $415,924p. 27$17,990
Currituck - 2 BR (Apartment)90% Refund Plan$494,250 to $516,386p. 27$22,332
Roanoke - 2 BR Deluxe (Apartment)Limited Refund Plan$294,688 to $319,208p. 27$12,406
Roanoke - 2 BR Deluxe (Apartment)50% Refund Plan$427,275 to $462,806p. 27$17,990
Roanoke - 2 BR Deluxe (Apartment)90% Refund Plan$530,462 to $574,620p. 27$22,332
Manteo - 2 BR / Den (Apartment)Limited Refund Plan$330,219 to $358,939p. 27$12,406
Manteo - 2 BR / Den (Apartment)50% Refund Plan$478,812 to $520,472p. 27$17,990
Manteo - 2 BR / Den (Apartment)90% Refund Plan$594,371 to $646,135p. 27$22,332
Beaufort - 2 BR / Den Deluxe (Apartment)Limited Refund Plan$356,214 to $366,998p. 27$12,406
Beaufort - 2 BR / Den Deluxe (Apartment)50% Refund Plan$516,499 to $532,164p. 27$17,990
Beaufort - 2 BR / Den Deluxe (Apartment)90% Refund Plan$641,140 to $660,551p. 27$22,332
Sealevel - 1 BR / Den (Villa)Limited Refund Plan$279,818 to $282,542p. 27$12,406
Sealevel - 1 BR / Den (Villa)50% Refund Plan$405,707 to $409,680p. 27$17,990
Sealevel - 1 BR / Den (Villa)90% Refund Plan$503,672 to $508,553p. 27$22,332
Rodanthe - 2 BR (Villa)Limited Refund Plan$298,775 to $313,759p. 27$12,406
Rodanthe - 2 BR (Villa)50% Refund Plan$433,178 to $454,973p. 27$17,990
Rodanthe - 2 BR (Villa)90% Refund Plan$537,840 to $564,744p. 27$22,332
Nags Head - 2 BR Deluxe (Villa)Limited Refund Plan$342,706 to $352,922p. 27$12,406
Nags Head - 2 BR Deluxe (Villa)50% Refund Plan$496,974 to $511,731p. 27$17,990
Nags Head - 2 BR Deluxe (Villa)90% Refund Plan$616,848 to $635,237p. 27$22,332
Hatteras - 2 BR Sunrise (Villa)Limited Refund Plan$383,912 to $398,896p. 27$12,406
Hatteras - 2 BR Sunrise (Villa)50% Refund Plan$556,684 to $578,366p. 27$17,990
Hatteras - 2 BR Sunrise (Villa)90% Refund Plan$691,087 to $717,991p. 27$22,332
Kitty Hawk - 2 BR / Den (Villa)Limited Refund Plan$394,696 to $410,248p. 27$12,406
Kitty Hawk - 2 BR / Den (Villa)50% Refund Plan$572,349 to $594,825p. 27$17,990
Kitty Hawk - 2 BR / Den (Villa)90% Refund Plan$710,499 to $738,424p. 27$22,332
Southport - 2 BR / Den Deluxe (Villa)Limited Refund Plan$421,827 to $438,173p. 27$12,406
Southport - 2 BR / Den Deluxe (Villa)50% Refund Plan$611,626 to $635,351p. 27$17,990
Southport - 2 BR / Den Deluxe (Villa)90% Refund Plan$759,311 to $788,711p. 27$22,332
Bald Head - 2 BR Sunrise / Den (Villa)Limited Refund Plan$473,249 to $477,790p. 27$12,406
Bald Head - 2 BR Sunrise / Den (Villa)50% Refund Plan$679,849 to $692,790p. 27$17,990
Bald Head - 2 BR Sunrise / Den (Villa)90% Refund Plan$843,880 to $859,999p. 27$22,332

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (22 prices, $3,656 to $6,377)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Pamlico - 1 BRIndependent living$3,656p. 24$1,120
Pamlico II - 1 BRIndependent living$4,191p. 24$1,120
Ocracoke - 1 BR / DenIndependent living$4,405p. 24$1,120
Ocracoke II - 1 BR / DenIndependent living$4,698p. 24$1,120
Ocracoke III - 1 BR / DenIndependent living$4,781p. 24$1,120
Currituck - 2 BRIndependent living$5,058p. 24$1,120
Currituck II - 2 BRIndependent living$5,036p. 24$1,120
Roanoke - 2 BR DeluxeIndependent living$5,249p. 24$1,120
Roanoke II - 2 BR DeluxeIndependent living$5,314p. 24$1,120
Roanoke III - 2 BR DeluxeIndependent living$5,415p. 24$1,120
Roanoke IV - 2 BR DeluxeIndependent living$5,481p. 24$1,120
Manteo - 2 BR / DenIndependent living$5,574p. 24$1,120
Manteo II - 2 BR / DenIndependent living$5,703p. 25$1,120
Beaufort - 2 BR / Den DeluxeIndependent living$5,832p. 25$1,120
Beaufort II - 2 BR / Den DeluxeIndependent living$5,950p. 25$1,120
Sealevel - 1 BR / Den (Villa)Independent living$4,708p. 25$1,120
Rodanthe - 2 BR (Villa)Independent living$5,034p. 25$1,120
Nags Head - 2 BR Deluxe (Villa)Independent living$5,560p. 25$1,120
Hatteras - 2 BR Sunrise (Villa)Independent living$5,838p. 25$1,120
Kitty Hawk - 2 BR / Den (Villa)Independent living$5,848p. 25$1,120
Southport - 2 BR / Den Deluxe (Villa)Independent living$5,942p. 25$1,120
Bald Head - 2 BR Sunrise / Den (Villa)Independent living$6,377p. 25$1,120

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 3%20212022: 3%20222023: 4%20232024: 7%20242025: 3%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 26
2024Independent livingAll units7%Percent onlyp. 26
2023Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 26
2022Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 26
2021Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 26

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

90% Refund Planp. 166

1% of the entrance fee is kept at move-in and the refund falls another 0.5% a month for 18 months, leaving 90% refundable. It is paid only after you vacate and your residence is reoccupied.

Kept on move-in
1% of the fee
Declines by
0.5% a month for 18 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

50% Refund Planp. 166

2% of the entrance fee is kept at move-in and the refund falls another 1% a month for 48 months, leaving 50% refundable. It is paid only after you vacate and your residence is reoccupied.

Kept on move-in
2% of the fee
Declines by
1% a month for 48 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Limited Refund Planp. 166

A 4% service fee is kept at move-in and the refund falls 2% a month; after 48 months nothing is refundable. Any balance is paid after the residence is reoccupied.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 48 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $268,898 (90% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Trinity Landing is part of Lutheran Services for the Aging, Inc. (Lutheran Services Carolinas) Obligated Group.
  • Balance sheet: Lutheran Retirement Center - Wilmington, Inc. (Trinity Landing column of the LSA consolidating balance sheet).
  • Ratios: Trinity Landing campus consolidated (Trinity Landing + Trinity Grove + Lutheran Home Wilmington Property), per Section 35.

Days cash on hand

248 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

2.10x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresProvider ratios cover the combined Wilmington campus (Trinity Landing, Trinity Grove nursing and the Wilmington property company), not the Trinity Landing balance sheet shown. The 248 days count $18.3M of cash and investments that includes the $3.3M statutory operating reserve; without the reserve the campus holds about $15.0M (≈203 days), and the Trinity Landing entity alone holds $12.6M of cash and investments. The LSA obligated group, jointly liable for the bonds, reported 408 days cash and 4.48x coverage for the same year (Table FS-2).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 97FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand248 days172 days431 days
Debt service coverage2.10x2.66x0.71x
Total assets$135.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$136.6 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$75.6 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$40.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$20.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$1.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Forvis Mazars, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 97

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 212024p. 212023p. 212022p. 212021p. 21
Independent living98%97.7%75.6%4.3%Not disclosed
Assisted livingNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care95.4%94.2%94.3%90.6%92%

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Trinity Landing in Wilmington is a 208-unit independent living community (124 apartments, 84 villas) run by Lutheran Services Carolinas, open since 2022. Entrance fees run from about $166,000 to $860,000 depending on the residence and the refund plan (90%, 50% or declining to zero). Nursing care is at Trinity Grove, an affiliated facility about two miles away, at its daily rates.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.