Home › Compare
Bridgewater Retirement Community and Park Village (VMRC) compared
Two Virginia communities about 8 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Bridgewater Retirement Community | Park Village (VMRC) |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Bridgewater, VA | Harrisonburg, VA |
| Filing used | 2024 statement, fiscal 2023 financesPDF | 2025 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type C (fee for service) | Type C (fee for service) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $75,606 to $1,906,566p. 55p. 57 | $122,709 to $1,127,549p. 71p. 73 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $1,124 to $3,591p. 55 | $1,728 to $3,684p. 71p. 69 |
| Refund plans | Option One: 7-Year Declining Refund; Option Two: No-Less-Than 50% Refund; Option Three: 100% Refundp. 47p. 48p. 15 | Option 1; Option 2; Option 3p. 32p. 33p. 34 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 100% of the feep. 47p. 48p. 15 | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is firstp. 47p. 48p. 15 | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 32p. 33p. 34 |
| Days cash on hand | 316 days (FY2023, calculated)p. 66Figures for Bridgewater HealthCare, Inc. and Affiliates (consolidated). | 421 days (FY2025)p. 41Figures for VMRC Obligated Group (VMRC, Virginia Mennonite Home, Park Village, VMRC Foundation; excludes Heritage Haven). |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2024 filing | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2024 filingFigures for Bridgewater HealthCare, Inc. and Affiliates (consolidated). | 4.78x (FY2025)p. 41Figures for VMRC Obligated Group (VMRC, Virginia Mennonite Home, Park Village, VMRC Foundation; excludes Heritage Haven). |
| Independent living occupancy | 98.95% (2023)p. 114 | 96.4% (2025)p. 76 |
| Net position | $53.5 million (FY2023)p. 66 | $23.4 million (FY2025)p. 41 |
| Whose finances | Bridgewater HealthCare, Inc. and Affiliates (consolidated)p. 66 | Virginia Mennonite Retirement Community, Inc. (consolidated); ratios for VMRC Obligated Group (VMRC, Virginia Mennonite Home, Park Village, VMRC Foundation; excludes Heritage Haven)p. 41 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Gross Mendelsohnp. 66 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Beachy Arehart PLLCp. 41 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 4 of 5 (CMS overall) | 3 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Bridgewater Retirement Community
Type C (fee for service): Independent living residents are not entitled to assisted living or nursing care under the agreement, but their applications get priority over non-residents and they pay the prevailing rates. The Village Monthly Service Fee continues during a temporary transfer.p. 13
Park Village (VMRC)
Type C (fee for service): No care is included and the Residency Agreement promises only priority (not guaranteed) admission to VMRC assisted living and nursing. Transfers pay a per diem rate for Park residents that the fee sheets call discounted, but no amount or discount is stated. The residency fee can be credited toward assisted living or nursing fees only after all other assets are exhausted.p. 22