Skip to content

Home › Compare

The Colonnades and Westminster-Canterbury of the Blue Ridge compared

Two Virginia communities about 5 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureThe ColonnadesWestminster-Canterbury of the Blue Ridge
LocationCharlottesville, VACharlottesville, VA
Filing used2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesType C (fee for service)Type A (life care)
Entrance fee, one person$34,550 to $292,775p. 10$226,829 to $1,410,651p. 129
Monthly fee, independent living$4,800 to $13,750p. 12p. 11$4,298 to $12,156p. 129
Refund plansNon-Refundable Entrance Fee (4%/month for 12 months)p. 10Standard Option; Refundable Option (50%)p. 34
Highest guaranteed refund0% of the feep. 1045% of the feep. 34
When a refund is paidNot disclosed in the 2025 filingWhen your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 34
Days cash on handNot disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for The Colonnades (column of Welltower CCRC OpCo, LLC combining balance sheet). The Colonnades had $0 in cash and no investments on its own balance sheet at December 31, 2024, so days cash on hand is not reported here (by the standard formula it would be zero). Its cash is held by the Sunrise management company and Welltower affiliates: it owed the management company $15,918,497 and was owed $6,112,967 by an affiliate. Welltower OP LLC has agreed to make funds available for the provider's continuing-care obligations (p5).1381 days (FY2025, interim)p. 149The 1,381 days matches cash ($11.2M) plus all $120.1M of investments, which include $15.7M purpose-restricted and $2.1M perpetually restricted donor funds (p19, p76); cash and unrestricted investments alone ($113.6M) come to about 1,190 days.
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2025 filingNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Debt service coverageNot disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for The Colonnades (column of Welltower CCRC OpCo, LLC combining balance sheet). The Colonnades had $0 in cash and no investments on its own balance sheet at December 31, 2024, so days cash on hand is not reported here (by the standard formula it would be zero). Its cash is held by the Sunrise management company and Welltower affiliates: it owed the management company $15,918,497 and was owed $6,112,967 by an affiliate. Welltower OP LLC has agreed to make funds available for the provider's continuing-care obligations (p5).6.90x (FY2025, interim)p. 149The 1,381 days matches cash ($11.2M) plus all $120.1M of investments, which include $15.7M purpose-restricted and $2.1M perpetually restricted donor funds (p19, p76); cash and unrestricted investments alone ($113.6M) come to about 1,190 days.
Independent living occupancy87.6% (2024)p. 28896.4% (2025)p. 150
Net position−$3.2 million (FY2024)p. 289$68.6 million (FY2025)p. 77
Whose financesThe Colonnades (column of Welltower CCRC OpCo, LLC combining balance sheet)p. 289Westminster-Canterbury of the Blue Ridge and Foundation (consolidated); ratios for Westminster-Canterbury of the Blue Ridge and Foundation (consolidated; both are the bond Obligated Group)p. 77
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, Baker Tilly US, LLPp. 289Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 77
Nursing care, CMS ratingNo CMS record linked5 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

The Colonnades

Type C (fee for service): Assisted living and nursing are paid separately from the monthly fee at the Health Center per diem rates plus ancillaries, adjustable on 30 days' notice. A resident sent to an outside facility for lack of space has the right to return on a priority basis.p. 32

Westminster-Canterbury of the Blue Ridge

Type A (life care): The Monthly Fee does not change on a temporary or permanent move to Catered Living (assisted living), Vista memory support or the Health Center; ancillary medical charges are extra. If care must be provided at an outside facility, costs above WCBR's Monthly Fee are the resident's. For comparison, the Health Center per diem charged to non-lifecare patients rose 15% in FY2024, 10% in FY2025 and 7% twice in FY2026 (p141).p. 36

Questions to ask both communities before you sign