Home › Compare
Goodwin House Bailey's Crossroads and Vinson Hall Retirement Community compared
Two Virginia communities about 5 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Goodwin House Bailey's Crossroads | Vinson Hall Retirement Community |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Falls Church, VA | McLean, VA |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2023 statement, fiscal 2022 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type A (life care), Type B (modified), Type C (fee for service) | Type C (fee for service), Rental |
| Entrance fee, one person | $92,830 to $1,832,425p. 46p. 62 | $106,180 to $1,230,633p. 136p. 140 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $3,573 to $16,412p. 45p. 61 | $2,061 to $6,682p. 143p. 142 |
| Refund plans | Standard Plan; Modified Plan; 50% Refundable Plan; Long-Term Care Insurance Plan; 90% Refundable Fee-for-Service Planp. 77p. 125p. 101p. 151 | 90% Refundable (Vinson Hall); Declining Balance (Vinson Hall); 90% Refundable (Willow Oak); Declining Balance (Willow Oak)p. 40p. 51p. 62p. 73 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 50% of the feep. 77p. 125p. 101p. 151 | 90% of the feep. 40p. 51p. 62p. 73 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 77p. 125p. 101p. 151 | Within a fixed number of days; When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 40p. 51p. 62p. 73 |
| Days cash on hand | 995.4 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 224Figures for Goodwin House Bailey's Crossroads. | 564 days (FY2022, calculated)p. 153Days cash computed from the FY2022 balance sheet: cash $779,755 + investments $47,630,483, over cash expenses ($37,001,588 total expenses less $5,672,258 depreciation and amortization) / 365 = 564 days. The FY2022 audit's liquidity note prints 685 days (Dec 2022) and 800 (Dec 2021), but that note repeats the FY2021 audit word for word, where the same 685 and 800 are dated December 2021 and 2020. The donor-restricted endowment fund, donor-restricted investments and the interest rate swap asset are excluded. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2023 filing |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2026 filingFigures for Goodwin House Bailey's Crossroads. | Not disclosed in the 2023 filingDays cash computed from the FY2022 balance sheet: cash $779,755 + investments $47,630,483, over cash expenses ($37,001,588 total expenses less $5,672,258 depreciation and amortization) / 365 = 564 days. The FY2022 audit's liquidity note prints 685 days (Dec 2022) and 800 (Dec 2021), but that note repeats the FY2021 audit word for word, where the same 685 and 800 are dated December 2021 and 2020. The donor-restricted endowment fund, donor-restricted investments and the interest rate swap asset are excluded. |
| Independent living occupancy | 97% (2025)p. 35 | 97.9% (2022)p. 221 |
| Net position | $61.9 million (FY2025)p. 224 | $2.0 million (FY2022)p. 153 |
| Whose finances | Goodwin House Bailey's Crossroads (column of the obligated group combining statements); ratios for Goodwin House Bailey's Crossroadsp. 224 | Navy Marine Coast Guard Residence Foundation and Subsidiaries (consolidated, incl. Vinson Hall, LLC); ratios for Navy Marine Coast Guard Residence Foundation and Subsidiariesp. 153 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 224 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, FORVIS, LLPp. 153 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Goodwin House Bailey's Crossroads
Type A (life care): Standard, Modified and 50% Refundable plans: 'You will not be charged an additional fee for nursing services'; ancillary charges and doctors are billed separately. The disclosure (p25) says the monthly fee does change on moving to assisted living, memory support or the Health Care Center for the LTC Insurance and fee-for-service plans.p. 72
Type B (modified): The Long-Term Care Insurance Plan has a discounted entrance fee for residents who hold long-term care insurance. It includes 90 days of assisted living or nursing care not covered by Medicare A over the resident's lifetime; after that the resident pays the private pay rate.p. 96
Type C (fee for service): The 90% Refundable Fee-for-Service plan does not include future assisted living or nursing; the resident is charged the private pay rates for that care and keeps paying the residential monthly fee until the residential apartment is vacated.p. 147
Vinson Hall Retirement Community
Type C (fee for service): Assisted living, nursing and memory care are paid at daily rates with no entrance fee; Vinson Hall and Willow Oak residents get admission priority. The Foundation may help residents who cannot pay, but that help is not contractually guaranteed.p. 144