Home › Compare
Goodwin House Alexandria and Goodwin House Bailey's Crossroads compared
Two Virginia communities about 1 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Goodwin House Alexandria | Goodwin House Bailey's Crossroads |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Alexandria, VA | Falls Church, VA |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type A (life care), Type B (modified), Type C (fee for service) | Type A (life care), Type B (modified), Type C (fee for service) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $77,476 to $1,529,320p. 38p. 40 | $92,830 to $1,832,425p. 46p. 62 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $3,414 to $14,316p. 37p. 39 | $3,573 to $16,412p. 45p. 61 |
| Refund plans | Standard Plan; Modified Plan; 50% Refundable Plan; Long-Term Care Insurance Plan; 90% Refundable Fee-for-Service Planp. 139p. 64p. 116p. 91 | Standard Plan; Modified Plan; 50% Refundable Plan; Long-Term Care Insurance Plan; 90% Refundable Fee-for-Service Planp. 77p. 125p. 101p. 151 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 50% of the feep. 139p. 64p. 116p. 91 | 50% of the feep. 77p. 125p. 101p. 151 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 139p. 64p. 116p. 91 | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 77p. 125p. 101p. 151 |
| Days cash on hand | 884.5 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 213Figures for Goodwin House Alexandria. | 995.4 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 224Figures for Goodwin House Bailey's Crossroads. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2026 filingFigures for Goodwin House Alexandria. | Not disclosed in the 2026 filingFigures for Goodwin House Bailey's Crossroads. |
| Independent living occupancy | 97% (2025)p. 28 | 97% (2025)p. 35 |
| Net position | $54.2 million (FY2025)p. 213 | $61.9 million (FY2025)p. 224 |
| Whose finances | Goodwin House Alexandria (column of the obligated group combining statements); ratios for Goodwin House Alexandriap. 213 | Goodwin House Bailey's Crossroads (column of the obligated group combining statements); ratios for Goodwin House Bailey's Crossroadsp. 224 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 213 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 224 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Goodwin House Alexandria
Type A (life care): Standard, Modified and 50% Refundable plans: 'You will not be charged an additional fee for nursing services'; ancillary charges and doctors are billed separately.p. 134
Type B (modified): The Long-Term Care Insurance Plan has a discounted entrance fee for residents who hold long-term care insurance. It includes 90 days of assisted living or nursing care not covered by Medicare A over the resident's lifetime; after that the resident pays the private pay rate.p. 111
Type C (fee for service): The 90% Refundable Fee-for-Service plan does not include future assisted living or nursing; the resident pays the private rates in effect and keeps paying the residential fee until that apartment is vacated.p. 86
Goodwin House Bailey's Crossroads
Type A (life care): Standard, Modified and 50% Refundable plans: 'You will not be charged an additional fee for nursing services'; ancillary charges and doctors are billed separately. The disclosure (p25) says the monthly fee does change on moving to assisted living, memory support or the Health Care Center for the LTC Insurance and fee-for-service plans.p. 72
Type B (modified): The Long-Term Care Insurance Plan has a discounted entrance fee for residents who hold long-term care insurance. It includes 90 days of assisted living or nursing care not covered by Medicare A over the resident's lifetime; after that the resident pays the private pay rate.p. 96
Type C (fee for service): The 90% Refundable Fee-for-Service plan does not include future assisted living or nursing; the resident is charged the private pay rates for that care and keeps paying the residential monthly fee until the residential apartment is vacated.p. 147